top of page
  • Writer's pictureschinowsky

The Oh Hellos' Zephyrus

On October 16th, The Oh Hellos released the final album in their four winds series, Zephyrus, named after the west wind in Greek mythology. I've written reviews for their past two albums and I was planning on writing a review for this last album. However, I realized that as incredible as this final album was, I didn't really know what to say about it. I just had an image in my mind inspired by lyrics from the titular song of the album:

I wanna help mother up an orchard
From a seed
Up through sapling
Daughter phoenix, rise
...
And as I breathe
So does she
We are breathing

So here's my interpretation of these lyrics, and of the entire set of four albums: vibrancy, death, and new life creating a cycle, yet hopefully growing toward something better.

You can buy Zephyrus from The Oh Hellos' website.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page