top of page
  • Writer's pictureschinowsky

Review of Homesick by Nino Cipri


Last summer, I was lucky enough to get to read an early copy of this collection of short stories. I loved them all so much that I went ahead and ordered my own copy once it was published! I will say right off the bat that I'm generally not a fan of short stories; I think short stories are very hard to get right, and usually end up too short, too long, or leave me feeling like there was no point to the story. Homesick contains nine perfectly crafted stories, each one completely different from the last yet always containing Cipri's beautiful, haunting touch. I was immediately taken in by the first story, and I was riveted through the end of the last one.

Cipri's stories vary in length, form, and tone, but each one occupies a speculative/sci-fi/fantasy/horror space that puts a mystical touch on the problems that the characters face. A man who has been kicked out of art school and is trying to navigate his feelings for his neighbor has a ghost haunting his closet; a team of academics grappling with feelings of love and betrayal discover the remains of an ancient intelligent weasel society; a young man tries to understand his family history and himself by time traveling. Each story left me with a wonderful assortment of flavors and feelings to mull over.

Cipri's stories are a great addition to the speculative fiction community because of their prominent inclusion of LGBTQ+ characters, but they're also a great addition because of their nuanced approach to melancholy and hope. Cipri knows that life is not all sunshine and rainbows, but they never let the light get blocked out completely, which makes Cipri the exact type of author we need right now.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page