top of page
  • Writer's pictureschinowsky

"The Art of Small Steps"

A prayer from a friend across the sea.


A few years ago, my family and I went on a trip to Spain. While at a museum there, my grandmother bought a copy of some old manuscripts. She gave the curator, Manuel Moleiro, her email address, and she’s been receiving notices of historical documents he was selling. A couple of days ago, she received a different type of email from him, one that touched her heart from across the sea. She asked me to share it with you all:



“Lord, teach me the art of small steps. I’m not praying for miracles and visions, I’m only asking for strength for my days. Make me clever and resourceful to seize at the right moment the knowledge and experiences that concern me particularly. Teach me how to properly dispose of my time. Give me the sense to distinguish what is essential and what is secondary. I pray for strength, self-control and moderation, so that I do not let myself be carried away by life, but to live my days reasonably. Help me to cope as well as possible with the here and now and to recognize the present time as the most important. Save me from the naive belief that everything in life has to go smoothly. Give me the sober recognition that difficulties and failures are just a natural part of life, through which we grow and mature. Make me a man capable of feeling for those who suffer. Do not give me the things I desire, but the things I need. Teach me the art of small steps.” – Prayer attributed to Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

There is little more I can add to these wise and heartfelt words… only that I pray to God that all of you, family, friends, neighbours… all of you are well in these difficult times.

Best regards and my best wishes for good luck and good health above all.

Manuel Moleiro



138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page